关于优步的新“始终”位置跟踪

优步的iOS应用程序最近改变了它的位置跟踪从“使用应用程序时”到“始终”该公司表示他们只是在乘车结束后只做五分钟,看看乘客去哪里他们正在努力提高乘客下车的准确性。

迈克尔S.菲舍尔对此感到震惊

As you know, iOS allows users to control how apps can access the user’s locationThere are three choices: “Always,” “When using the app,” or “Never.” These are reasonable optionsSome users might never want an app to have access to their locationOthers might have a strong trust relationship with the app and its authors and allow the app always to track them.

Most of us, though, fall into the middle camp: We want to allow apps to use our location for the purpose of providing a service, but want to control our privacy when the app or its authors cease doing business with us所以我们要问的很简单:

Don’t allow app developers to disable the “when using the app” Location privacy option.

It’s simply unnecessary for Uber or others to track us when the app isn’t in use我们怎么知道呢?Because these apps worked adequately before they disabled this option.We were able to meet our drivers by opening the app, finding our location, and hailing a driverWe gave them enough information to get the job done, and we were satisfied with the results.

很少有人对优步比我更加怀疑就在上周我联系到了一个关于优步内部隐私问题的严厉报道

iOS does not give users the fine-grained control over apps’ location-tracking privileges that Fischer is asking for, but it does give us a way to verify that Uber is only using its “Always” privilege the way it claims to be — for five minutes after a ride ends.

转到设置→隐私→位置服务,然后查看应用列表如果Uber最近检查了您的位置,则会在列表中显示一个指示符 - 如果“最近”检查则为紫色,如果在最近24小时内为灰色自Uber改变其位置检查权限以来,我每隔几天就一直在检查这个问题,而且它从来没有表现出任何滥用的迹象。

我不相信优步但我们可以集体验证,在这种情况下,他们正在做他们所说的他们正在做的事情。